Bees fit for a bride

The best thing about my job is the bonkers commissions I get asked to make!

Last year, when I was still working at the day job, a colleague approached me with the idea of having three dozen crochet bees for her wedding in May 2016.  Her wedding concept was handmade and simple, with a subtle bee theme.  The crochet bees were going to embellish her table flower arrangements so needed to be small but still cute.

I went away to find a pattern and create a prototype.  I found the most adorable kawaii amigurumi bee pattern on the Mohu Blog and set to experimenting with different yarns and hook sizes.  In the end, I settled on my favourite Patons Smoothie DK and a 2.5mm hook, making a small and smooth bee with nice stitch definition.  36 bees done, complete with seed bead eyes and embroidered mouths!

bees

The bride also wanted two bees for the top of her wedding cake, so I customised these two: one with a tiny top hat, and the other with a tiny veil and beaded tiara.

bees2

Vickie and Dave got married last weekend so I’m now able to share photos of the bees in action!  Congratulations Mr and Mrs Garner, I was thrilled to be part of your big day xxx

Bees

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mrs P says:

    Awww these are brilliant, how original to have bees for a wedding ~ cool

  2. notewords says:

    How charming! Love the little heart-shaped box. 😉

Leave a Reply

