Upcycled hanging baskets

I can’t believe I have never blogged about my crochet hanging baskets before, I make so many of them!

Here are two I finished recently for a friend who is decorating a nursery for her second baby.IMG_0796

All of my hanging baskets are made with chunky fabric yarn – Boodles (available at Hobbycraft) or Tek Tek (buy online from Wool Warehouse or Ebay) – and a bamboo 10mm hook.  I use a free pattern by Bekki Bjarnoll on Ravelry, but I slip stitch around the basket instead of crab stitch in the final round.IMG_0794

Fabric yarn is fun to crochet with, as it has quite a lot of stretch and it works up quickly.  It also gives you a good arm workout!  The colours vary depending on what is available at the time, as Boodles and Tek Tek are made from fabric leftover from clothes production, and thickness can be a little inconsistent but it all adds to the charm of the finished product.  I also love that it can be upcycled into something really practical.

 

Leave a Reply

