Pretty circle baby blanket

All these granny square workshops I’ve been running have obviously rubbed off because I’ve become a bit obsessed with them recently.

I’ve had Sue Pinner’s ‘Granny Squares’ book for ages and I just love the circle blanket on the front cover so I decided to give it a whirl.  I had a load of ball-ends of Stylecraft Special DK lying around so set to work making circles in different colour ways.IMG_2236

I ended up with 60 circles, each with its own unique colour combination and using over 15 different shades of yarn.

I wanted to make a baby blanket so arranged the circles in seven rows of eight motifs and got on with joining them all with cream yarn and the join-as-you-go method.  I did a lot of this while sat outside in the sunshine last weekend, perfect crochet weather!IMG_2235

The blanket in Sue’s book has a black stripe in the border but I decided that there was so much pink in the blanket already I may as well go the whole hog and add in a pink stripe (using Stylecraft Special DK in Pomegranate).banner

This blanket was relatively quick to make and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it!  The finished blanket is now for sale through my Folksy shop.

IMG_2233IMG_2234

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. sueelaine says:

    Looks beautiful! Love it 😊

  2. I love this blanket, the colours are fabulous.

Leave a Reply

