Playing with colour

It’s pouring down with rain today in Birmingham so I’m cheering myself up with some colour therapy, putting together a colour combo for a crochet party I’m hosting in a couple of weeks.

A few of the trainee hookers on my workshops have asked how I put colours together, so I thought it might be useful to give a bit of an insight into my process.

One way to put colours together is to work with a colour wheel, as shown in the illustration below.

colour harmony

(Image source: https://oss.adm.ntu.edu.sg/rebe0009/wp-content/uploads/sites/191/2015/11/tumblr_m8cl7cwX3j1rrx82m.jpg)

For a full explanation of how these colour combinations work, read this interesting article on colour theory by Tiger Colour.

Another way is to look to the colour combinations in nature.  A great site for this is Design Seeds, which takes a photo and breaks it down into a colour palette you can use in your work.  ColorSpring2_150

If I come across an image online that inspires me, I pin it to my Pinterest board.  That way I can come back to my colour inspiration board when I’m looking for a new palette.

I decided on the following combination for the crochet party: a mixture of lovely, fresh blues and greens, perfect for a Spring hen do.

seeds

And here are my chosen colours in Stylecraft Special DK!

IMG_0386

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Putting colours together has always been a bit of an issue forme, so thanks for the tips!

  2. You’re welcome, glad I could help!

  3. louplus2 says:

    What a great idea with the pegs, you get a way better of the colours with the swatches being bigger.. I’ll definitely be stealing that one!

Leave a Reply

