New York sunrise ripple blanket

I’m not very good at keeping New Year’s resolutions (mostly because I have zero willpower!), but I decided that 2016 was going to be the year I made some of the projects on my long to do list. Most of these projects are for me or for our home, so I always felt a bit guilty about making things I wasn’t going to sell.  However, this is the year of “selfish crochet” and I’m off to a flying start with this ripple blanket.

I was inspired after seeing a gorgeous ripple blanket by Jessy and Jo on Facebook, who follows Attic24’s neat ripple pattern found here.

The colour combo is inspired by a photo canvas hanging on our bedroom wall.  It was taken at 6am on a chilly January morning in New York, a place very dear to my heart as it’s where J took me for a surprise mini-break and proposed back in 2008.new york

I recently organised my enormous stash of Stylecraft Special DK onto wooden pegs so that I could more easily plan colour combos for projects. and here are the colours I decided on for this blanket.pegs

So far I’ve worked 20 ripples (40 rows) of this blanket with my favourite KnitPro 4mm hook and I’m loving the gentle up and down of the pattern.  It’s a perfect project for sitting in front of the TV in the evening!

12568740_1335518346473794_493547948_n(1)

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

