A sneaky peek at my craft room

So this is my new office!  It is an absolute disgrace at the moment and my first task is to give it a good tidy but I thought you might like to have a sneaky peak around my craft room.

It is a tiny space up in the converted attic of our Victoria terraced house.  I have a battered-up old desk which is home to my mum’s sewing machine and our gigantic printer/copier/scanner.

IMG_1659Above the desk is a shelving unit from my Grandad’s house, which I’m going to paint with Annie Sloan chalk paint when I get a chance.  The shelves accommodate my lovely pink Roberts radio and my jars of buttons.  On the radio most of the time is either Absolute Radio or Radio 6 Music.

The attic is also home to our hot water tank which IMG_1663annoyingly takes up quite a lot of head room but I’ve made the most of it and used the sticky-out bit of wall to attach my pin board to.  The board is covered in cards I’ve received with orders from other Etsy and Folksy sellers, pages ripped out of magazines and my plan for the next few months. I’ve also stringed up my vintage Sylko threads because I just love the retro colours and can’t bring myself to use them for sewing!

IMG_1661Next to my desk is another piece of inherited furniture.  This tallboy stood in my Grandad’s spare bedroom and I’ve always loved the pretty shell design on the top drawers.  The drawers contain some of my yarn stash and all of my haberdashery bits and bobs.  Not only does it look pretty but it also smells amazing; a kind of old wood smell that takes me back to my childhood.

IMG_1664The rest of my yarn stash is stored either in ugly plastic boxes or this enormous Ikea basket.  In this photo you can see my collection of Stylecraft Special DK and also just some of my fabric stash.  I really need to come up with a better storage solution for my fabric because this pile keeps on falling over!  Any suggestions?

Anyway, I hoped you’ve enjoyed this insight into my new day-to-day workspace.  Once I’ve had a bit of a tidy, I’ll show you the rest of it!
 
 
 

Leave a Reply

