Back from our South African adventure

For those who don’t know, the reason for my silence over the last few weeks is because we have just got back from a fantastic holiday in South Africa. We had a lovely 2 and a bit weeks exploring Cape Town and the wider Western Cape, and celebrating the wedding of my beautiful best friend at a vineyard in Stellenbosch.

Travelling with two young children was quite a challenge (more about that another day!) and we are all pleased to be back home. I don’t know about you, but my favourite part of returning home is finding all my purchases buried among the dirty laundry in the suitcase. I was in craft heaven in South Africa – everywhere we went there were artisan boutiques, craft stalls and fabric galore. Here are some of my finds:

IMG_1299.JPG

The fabric is 100% pre-shrunk cotton and was only R82 per metre (approx £4). The colours are so gorgeous and vibrant, and I was really drawn to these geometric prints in blue and orange. The little upcycled giraffe is from a stall in the Watershed at the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town, a fabulous place to pick up handmade and unique items.

I bought the wool from a lady based at Old Nick’s Village in Plettenberg Bay. She was spinning and dyeing it by hand and threw in a free chunky crochet hook for free, awesome!

The mint green scarf is also from the Watershed and was made in one of South Africa’s townships. I couldn’t resist the gorgeous crochet edging.

I think J is very glad that we didn’t have much room in our luggage otherwise I think I would have spent a lot more. Thanks goodness for Mastercard!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mrs P says:

    Wow loving your haul of goodies, I’d love to hear more of your adventures 🙂

Leave a Reply

