#handmadexmas

So it’s December 1st and Christmas is coming! I am very excited about Christmas this year, mostly because I think our 3 year old will have a ball, but I always feel a touch of sadness too as the first week of December marks another year since my mum died. It will be 8 years on Friday and I miss her so much.

One of the most enjoyable parts of Christmas is getting all the decorations out of the cellar and yesterday we pulled out Mum’s handmade advent calendar and filled it with chocs for wee man. These handmade touches make the festive season for me and bring back some lovely memories, and I love that our children are getting enjoyment from something that Mum made many years ago. It’s almost as if she is still here, involved with our Christmas preparations and shaping our own festive family traditions.

As much as possible, I am trying to embrace the ideal of a #handmadexmas this year. I have absolutely loved scouring Folksy and Etsy for unique and gorgeous presents for everyone, and the thought that I’m supporting small, creative businesses makes the process so much more rewarding. So I urge you all to shop local, embrace the handmade and have a very happy #craftmas!

IMG_1044.JPG

Leave a Reply

