Isn’t technology fab?!

I would not count myself as a tech geek by any means, but I am totally blown away by the impact that technology and social media can have on a business as small as mine.

I have a page on Facebook with 83 likes (not all people I know!). Through the wonderful world of Twitter (I post as @claregetscrafty), I follow fellow crafters in the UK and further afield.  I chat with people during @CraftHour and @HandmadeHour, get tips on how to promote myself and sell my items, and be inspired by some of the lovely things that other people are making.

treasuryI have my shop on Folksy and I think it’s really important to support British designers and makers, but after a discussion on Twitter about the pros and cons of Etsy vs Folksy, I decided this week to also open a shop on Etsy, really just to test the water.  The only item currently listed is my rainbow stripe baby blanket but I was really delighted this morning when someone in San Francisco included it in her ‘Hush Little Baby’ Treasury List. I’m really uplifted that people other than my close friends and family appreciate my work, and I’m totally in awe of the power of modern technology!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mrs P says:

    I’ve favorited both your beautiful shops, your hand crafted goodies are divine, you even inspired me to re open my Folksy shop LOL

    1. Ah thanks Mrs P! Can’t wait to see your items on Folksy soon x

Leave a Reply

