Friends in a heat wave

I’ve had a great couple of days. I sold my first button bunny on Thursday and I took the boys to meet my best friend, who now lives in Australia, in Oxford yesterday. We had a good walk around and I found out all of her plans for her South African vineyard wedding next April. She’s asked me to be her bridesmaid and I cannot wait to be part of her celebrations.

I’m planning to make them a ripple blanket as a wedding gift. I’m going to try to use muted sunset colours to remind them of South Africa, something like this combination:

20140719-200708-72428202.jpg

If I can afford it, I’m going to use some lovely soft yarn such as Debbie Bliss Cashmerino DK to make it a really special gift.

From a parenting point of view, the journey back from Oxford was pretty stressful. All the roads were congested with families going on their summer holidays and the 28*C temperature made us all a bit hot and bothered. My coping strategy was our Finding Nemo CD on repeat and a constant supply of breadsticks and bananas. Our car seats need a serious clean now!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. hannah eno says:

    Wow, what’s ripple in this context? I am intrigued! It sounds lovely and those colours are beautiful. xxx

Leave a Reply

